UN chief names Israeli, Turkish panelists of inquiry on flotilla incident

UN Secretary-general Ban Ki- moon on Saturday named the Israeli and Turkish members of a panel of inquiry on Israel’s attack against an aid flotilla on May 31.

“Israel’s panel member is Mr. Joseph Ciechanover. Turkey’s panel member is Mr. Ozdem Sanberk,” Ban said in a statement. “Both men have distinguished records of public service.”

“I look forward to meeting them in New York on Aug. 10 when they will join the other panel members,” said the secretary- general.

Ban announced last week the establishment of the international panel, which will look into the incident that resulted in the deaths of nine civilians and the wounding of at least 30 others.

The panel will be headed by former prime minister of New Zealand Geoffrey Palmer. Outgoing President of Colombia Alvaro Uribe will be the vice-chair.

“As I said when announcing the panel, I hope the panel will fulfill its mandate based on the Presidential Statement of the Security Council and with the fullest cooperation of the relevant national authorities of the two countries,” Ban said.

On June 1, the UN Security Council adopted the presidential statement, calling for a prompt, fair, transparent investigation that conforms to international standards.

The panel is expected to submit the first progress report by mid-September.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: